Heart Unmasked

Posted: April 17, 2011 in Creative Writing

Come away from me wicked beauty!

Set my heart free from your torment.

For too long I have lost my serenity,

caught and entangled in your sweet beguilement.

Silence became your song. I am hollow, abandoned and cold.

Yet your voice echoes in the distance

piercing my mind and soul, keeping me in your hold.

Will your spell ever break and release me from your sway?

That I may at last forget the fragrance of your skin,

the tender feel against my body.

That I may yearn not for what had been,

and be rid of your mouth’s taste in my memory.

I ache to be a man for another,

carry through my ideals in love and fidelity;

An angels vow that betrayed you, trust a fool chose to squander.

Come away from me wicked beauty,

let another kindle my fire.

Your ghost and mine belong in times past.

The dawn approaches, we are but a shadow cast.

Comments
  1. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom says:

    this is an excellent piece dude! kinda reminded me of the style of my poem “Prayer of Endurance“. i love it! please read my entry too: “A Walk Under City Lights. Happy Poets Rally!

  2. bendedspoon says:

    Powerful! The push and pull of love๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Vinay says:

    Wow.. this is a beautiful imagery that you put forth.. and a real pace and tone to it๐Ÿ™‚

    My Post Is Here

  4. Jingle says:

    lovely flow..
    thanks for sharing…….

  5. honeyhaiku says:

    Such a human plight! Nicely penned.

  6. ouch! the song and the words made it all feel like a haunting, enjoy the rally!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/linconnue-de-la-ribambelle/

  7. Ah, unrequited love! It’s heartbreaking, but it’s fodder for good poetry like this piece!

  8. zunberzt says:

    thanks peeps, wow, u guys made my day, i didnt think anyone would like my poem. thanks from the bottom of my grateful heart.๐Ÿ™‚

  9. magher1 says:

    Very emotional and romantic. Still, the poem has got this special character… Awesome work!๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. zunberzt says:

    ey magher1 i just checked ur my fave writer! I’m still wating for that book!

  11. Andy says:

    Being haunted by a past love…expressed so beautifully. Thanks for sharing.

  12. torquethis says:

    Superb. Kudos to you.

  13. -D says:

    Loved the theme and tone of the poem.๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Walt says:

    A well crated piece. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

